So the big April announcement, hinted at over the last few months, was in fact regarding the 3rd edition of Infinity. In addition there were previews of new models as well as re-sculpts.

It’s safe to say that I am very excited about a 3rd edition of Infinity. I hope that there are no major changes to the game mechanics, as I feel the game is incredibly enjoyable and the system is balanced. However as much as I like the game I can’t dispute that the translation of the rule book is less than perfect, making the rules both difficult to read and sometimes ambiguous. The Infinity wiki and forums can quickly resolve many of these rule issue, however this involves extra effort on the player to find the information. This is fine for a player like myself who is very keen on the system, however I have heard that it’s been a reason for new players to give up the game. As Infinity has undergone rapid expansion in the last few years, in particular globally, a better translated rule book with cleaner rules would certainly encouraging the uptake of the game.

As to the previews of models, we have some (blurry) images to see some upcoming releases. As a Nomad and Combined Army player I am very excited to see that there will be new units coming soon.

 Nomad Interventors

Nomad Interventors

Not only are the Nomad Interventors getting a re-sculpt, but they will also get some companions in the form of “Fast Pandas” (I hope they are working on a better name!).  Rule wise I suspect these will be cheap remotes that are repeaters, much like a doctors/medics G servant (e.g. Palbot, Slave Drone etc). The new Nomad models validate the rumors that we will see a new Nomad sectorial, from the mother ship Tunguska. Currently there are very few models from Tunguska in the Nomad range, the most notable being the Interventors. Based on the background Tunguska will probably have a good selection of remotes and higher technology than the other Nomad sectorials.

Fast Panda

Fast Panda

The next really interesting preview for me is a Combined Army EI (Evolved Intelligence)  sectorial. I really like the style they have gone with, as it’s similar to the Ikadron. I hope there are also Sepsitorised humans in the EI sectorial, as I really enjoyed painting Ko Dhali (pictures coming soon!).

EI Unidron

EI Unidron

With two new sectorials for Nomads and Combined Army, even though I only collect two armies I will be able to play 6 different sectorials as well as the “vanilla” army. This would give me an impressive selection of 8 different army list to try out, which I am certainly looking to doing!

 

 

