The Morats have gone through a complete visual re-design, so I decided to part with my painted army and purchase the new models. Some people may consider this to be OTT, but having out of date models would really bug me! Anyway I really want to paint the new models, as they look awesome.

Sogarat with Feurbach

Sogarat with Feurbach (aka his “boom stick!”)

In the past I based my army around a Yaogat 5 man link team, however I used the refresh of models to try a different style of Morat Aggression Force. In my new list I based the army abound a 5 man Daturazi link, one of which I upgraded to have a combi rifle and explosive close combat weapon. Although this is an expensive upgrade, I thought that the explosive close combat weapon could be handy to deal with more resilient opponents. I had my doubts on the effectiveness of the combi-rifle, due to the Daturazi less than impressive BS of 10 but hopefully the close combat potential would be worth it.

With all the potential smoke  from the Daturazi, I had to include one Yaogat with spitfire to do some nasty MSV2 + smoke combo attacks. I also added a few morat vanguard for more reliable (i.e. less impetuous!) orders. To add some serious fire power and reliance to the army I added a Sogarat lieutenant. I went with the Feuerbach option as it good in defense as well as on the offense.

I had sufficient points to include another combat group, a novelty for the Combined Army! I added the Oznat and four Preta to form a potential link. To take advantage of the orders from this potential Oznat/Preta link, I added a Rasyat with Spitfire.

An issue with the list is the obvious lieutenant (the Sogarat), but then it’s one incredibly hard to kill lieutenant! I feel that this also fits the Morats personality. Other armies may hide their lieutenant with camo or with duplicates of the same model, but Morats can be bold because (in this list anyway) my lieutenant is heavy infantry with an armor value of 6! Anyway here is the full list:

 

Combat Group #1
 Sogarat Feuerbach Lt (70|2)
 Morat Combi (16|0)
 Morat Combi (16|0)
 Yaogat Spitfire (35|1.5)
 Daturazi Chain (14|0)
 Daturazi Chain (14|0)
 Daturazi Chain (14|0)
 Daturazi Chain (14|0)
 Daturazi EXP CCW (25|0)

 

Combat Group #2
 Rasyat Spitfire (40|1.5)
 Oznat (21|0)
 Preta Chain (5|0)
 Preta Chain (5|0)
 Preta Chain (5|0)
 Preta Chain (5|0)

 

I played one game against Steal Phalanx (Alpeh) today to try the force out.

I started the game with the Oznat/Preta linked (I then switched the link team to the Daturazi) and used the now regular orders to get the Rasyat into action. This provided the Rasyat with 5 orders to cause carnage. Unfortunately in this game the Rasyat failed to kill anything, purely because of the ODD and smoke that the Steal Phalanx are renowned for (and hated for!). I still thought that this was an efficient use of cheap orders, so hope to use this tactic more in the future.

 Oznat


Oznat

Once linked the Daturazi were really quick to get up the field. In addition they were very durable to enemy fire, with sixth sense level 2 and being able to throw two smoke grenades that can hit on an amazing 20 (ph 14 then +3 for full link and +3 for range)! However when it came to killing, I found it incredibly tricky to keep them alive whilst using the chain rifles (although that’s warband troops for you!). I think to keep the Daturazi alive for longer, I might be better off using  coordinated orders to reduce the ARO against them. Using coordinated orders would break the link, but the link seems best for movement or if the burst 2 chain rifle is needed.

I was surprised that the Daturazi with explosive close combat weapon and combi-rifle was surprisingly useful. I did not get into combat, but the actual combi-rifle was worthwhile so long as the link was at 5 models, giving the Daturazi a decent BS of 13. In fact I think main strength of the Daturazi is the ability to get to that magical 5 man link something which their closest counterparts, the myrmidons, can’t do! I would now consider using the Daturazi with light smoke launcher option and combi rifle, as it would be nice o be able to get smoke further up the field. In fact with the full link the Daturazi with light smoke launcher hits on 16 or less within 16″.

Daturazi

Daturazi

I certainly like the more (aptly) aggressive style that I am taking with the  Morat Aggression Force and am looking forward to refining my tactics. In particular making the most of two potential links was tricky, but an interesting different playing experience.
The new Morat models are simply fantastic and have been fun to play with. I am really keen to get them painted up (although I need to do Ko Dhali first!) and on the table again!
