imagesAlthough I have massively enjoyed playing with my Combined Army, I decided start another Infinity army (mainly as it was my Birthday!). This is not a massive commitment in Infinity, as you could get a full 300pts list for as little as £50! In the end I went for Nomads as I liked there background, game style and most importantly the models (although I ended up spending far more than £50!). I decided that going for “vanilla” Nomads would be the best approach (I could latter expand into the sectorials).

My standard list is shown below. The list is designed with ITS missions in mind (henese the use of forward observers). My main criticism of the list is that the LT can be deduced down to two models (the Inventor or Custodier).  However this is probably only obvious to other Nomad players (a month ago I would not have been able to tell!), so hopefully this is not too much of an issue! Otherwise I am quite happy with  the list as it seems flexible on the table and has a wide variety of models to paint.

Combat Group #1

Reverend Moira HMG (39|1.5)

Reverend Custodier Marker (38|0.5)

Interventor (26|0.5)

Zero Minelayer (19|0.5)

Lunokhod  (29|0)

Vortex Combi (10|0)

Moran Observer (24|0.5)

Moran Observer (24|0.5)

Moderator Combi (9|0)

Moderator Combi (9|0)

Combat Group #2

Morlock Chain (7|0)

Morlock Chain (7|0)

Morlock Chain (7|0)

Morlock Chain (7|0)

Salyut EVO (13|0.5)

Sin-Eater Spitfire (32|1.5)

300/300 points | 6/6 swc

In my first two games, I managed to get a win against Haqq and Pan-O. However I know my opponents army, whereas they did not know Nomads. This is quite an advantage as Nomads have a lot of “tricks” that can initially catch people out. In particular using repeaters to hack heavy infantry won me both games. My Crazy Kolas have also been causing mischief and have been great for protecting my objectives.  My local opponents will defiantly create counter-tactics to these Nomad tricks, so I can see it getting tougher over time!

After the first two games I think  the Nomads offer a completely different play style to the  Combined Army, which is perfect for my second army! In particular my Nomad can play far more defensively than my Combined ever could. It’s also a refreshing to be able to field two combat groups, which means there are plenty of orders to go around! It’s also a nice to have a large number of repeaters and hacker’s. This makes Nomads great at cyber warfare, which plays to the Nomad background perfectly. In general I have found that Nomads work well together and in doing to many of their units perform better on the table than their stats might indicate.

Nomad models that stand out so far are the Morlock (as it’s great fun to see what their drugs do!), Crazy Koalas (as it’s fun when they explode!) and the Lunokhod  (heavy flamers and climming plus is a great combo!). I have defiantly been enjoying playing with this list and am looking forward to facing Pan-O and Haqq again soon!

